Yes ladies and gentleman, they have finally reached the point of no return…they made a movie “loosely” based on the Hasbro board game Battleship. I know thatHollywood is having trouble finding new and fresh movie ideas…. But a movie based on a board game? The last movie I remember being based off a board game was the movie Clue (1985) directed by Johnathan Lynn and starred Tim Curry, Eileen Brennan and Madeline Kahn,  cheesy as it mind sound I do remember enjoying it.  The story for Battleship is as follows; A U.S. Navy fleet commanded by Liam Neesons character departs from theHawaiian Islands to conduct war games, only to find themselves in a real war against an unknown alien armada and is forced to do battle to discover and stop the Aliens destructive goals.

 

After watching the newest trailer of the movie, I still have the same opinion about it as I did back in 2009…. A flop! The movie looks like a strange love child of Transformers the movie, Terminator: Salvation and District 9. When I saw the first trailer back at theatres, not knowing what the movie was I saw one of the battle scenes between alien and human ships I could’ve swore I was seeing a trailer for the next Transformers movie… Transformers: Armada…Oh wait! Silly me that titles already been done. Not only that but you see an actual battleship firing its cannons, I’m no navy expert but I’m pretty sure that battleships haven’t been in the U.S. Navy for over 30 years. At the end when the title came onto the screen I could hear several individual voices (mine included) saying “REALLY?” So at least I wasn’t alone.

 

Battleship has some good cast, such as Liam Neeson (Unknown), Alexander Skarsgard (True Blood) and Taylor Kitsch (John Carter) and to me those are the only shining points on the movie cast. Yes, I know Rihanna is in the movie, and is supposed to be a total kick ass in it but every time I see her in the movie all I’d be able to think about would be her doing the SNL sketch “Ronnie & Clyde”, watch it and you’ll know what I mean.  I really enjoy any movie that Liam Neeson is in; Schindlers list, Les Miserables, Taken and Rob Roy just to name a few, he plays the parts extremely well and I’m sure he will for this movie, but I am very curious to know what drew him to play the part in this movie. Battleship releases to theatres on May 18th, 2012  so I’m sure we’ll see more clips of transforming robot alien ships for days to come.

Leave a Reply

